It has not been disclosed where the 167 portions of state-owned land are located.

This emerged from a report on ‘progress made by the Inter-Ministerial Committee (IMC) on Land Reform on accelerating land reform and redistribution through the release of state-owned land for human settlements development’.

The 167 portions of state-owned land, measuring 14 105 hectares and held by the Department of Public Works and Infrastructure, would be ‘released for housing development through the issuing of powers of attorney to the housing development agency’.

The Cabinet also approved a moratorium on government bodies and state-owned entities taking steps to prevent the release of land.

A Cabinet statement said it ‘welcomed the progress being made by the IMC’.